Home Quixel Megascans

Maya LT & Colour Maps (Quixel Suite)

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ScrotieFlapWack polycounter lvl 5
Not to sure if this is the right place to post this. I am a little new to 3D and I am struggling. I have recently purchased Maya LT and I am trying to get a colour map from Maya LT to dDo (the new Quixel Suite). A Google search and watching some Youtube video's only shows the process of getting a colour map from Maya by baking from a high poly to a low poly, most tuts are with Maya as well and not Maya LT and the new TURTLE baking system (which makes it difficult for me to follow along.) But I don't need to bake from a high to low poly model anyway, I only have one model its a simple plane for a wall with one extrusion VERY low poly about 40 vertices and 10 faces, I can provide a screenshot when I am home from work.

Due to my model being this simple would it just be a case of getting a UV snapshot and applying the swatches through Photoshop for the colour/material map? Another problem (which I think I know how to solve, it isn't really a problem but more of me knowing better techniques), I have no normal map for my model. I have a UV snapshot from Maya LT of my model's UV's and I create an nDo2 document drag in my UV snapshot and just paint a normal map within the UV snapshot (simple cracks and scratches for some detail) then I save that from nDo2 as a .PNG, if there is any other way though to get a nice normal map, (maybe some other techniques) if your willing to share please do

For the colour map though I am not to sure what the best way to do this is. I am new to Maya LT and I am learning as I go. Any help is appreciated

Replies

• Eric Ramberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi ScrotieFlapWack! This is exactly the right place :)