Home Adobe Substance

Matching roughness between UE4 and SD/SP

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Spoon polycounter lvl 11
Hello guys,

Posting this here as well, as the allegorithmic forum seems slightly slower than the PC community. I hope it doesn't bother anyone.

As I am new in both UE4 and the allegorithmic software, I am most likely missing something super obvious.

How do I sync the look on metallic surfaces between SP/SD and UE4?
If I have a metallic surface in unreal, and apply my textures to that mesh's material one by one, everything seems fine until I put in the roughness map. Then it doesn't look like what I see in SD/SP at all. And I cant seem to figure out wh. No matter how I multiply/overlay/whateverify the roughness map with in unreal.

Im sure it's something small and easy. Can someone help me figure it out? :)

Replies

• Simmo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Simmo polycounter lvl 12
    Try un-ticking "sRGB" in the roughness map texture properties (in UE4).

Since it's a greyscale image used to get precise values for roughness you don't want any gamma correction messing with the values/levels, so un-ticking sRGB should make the texture display correctly

Hope this helps out :)
  • Spoon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spoon polycounter lvl 11
    Ah of course, forgot all about that.
    Wasnt a one click solution, though. Maybe just lihgting, but will look more into it tommorow :)
    Thanks a lot, Simmo!
  • toren3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    toren3d polycounter lvl 7
    I have a follow up question that fits this topic.

I am also using Substance Designer and UE4, and while the look of the materials do seem on par between the two programs (especially after the UE4 sRGB uncheck mentioned above), I am a little suspicious of some of my settings, and want to make sure I am doing the right thing in regards to my export setup from Substance Designer (ver 4.5.1).