Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Steampunk Time Device - First PBR attempt (WIP)

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
GrungyStudios polycounter lvl 8
heys guys im a student and im starting school again and decided to get back into 3d with a prop. I usually texture in UDK but i decided to try a trial of marmoset 2 and try to texture for PBR. Wanted to do something small and focus more on texturing. Its really frustrating at this point, and im lacking the realism that i am aiming for.

Any feedback or critique would be greatly appreciated, i want this to be my first portolio peice for me so im looking to do my best on this. I need help on how to make the textures more realistic in pbr. Thanks for reading.

Work in progress, this is what i have so far

SteamSprunkShots1_zps881c2886.png

Wireframe_zps80997a65.jpg

Mapss_zps1863ddec.jpg

Reference image im working from

Time-S-left_zps97d37a50.jpg

Replies

• Yogensya
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yogensya polycounter lvl 9
    If you haven't yet be sure to check PBR tutorials, the ones in the marmoset website are a safe bet, especially the PBR Theory and Practice ones. :)http://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn

The main thing I would change in your current texture is darkening the metals in Albedo, and let the specular take care of those parts.

You can also remove occlusion from your textures and apply it on the occlusion slot in toolbag.

Also, if you're relatively new to texturing (and even if you're not anyways) you might want to check the metalness workflow, it might feel easier depending on you're personal preference (see the reflectivity section of the pbr-practice tutorial linked above).
  • BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    AO/shadowing shouldn't be in your albedo, technically. AO should be on a seperate map, no shadowing unless it's part of the style.