Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

PBR Katana

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
TheAxiom polycounter lvl 3
Okay so I'm pretty new to modelling and I wanted to experiment with high to low baking and PBR material workflows.
I'm passionate about Japanese culture so I thought a simple katana would be good practice.

Here is what I have so far. This is the unfinished high poly in Marmoset without any texturing or unwrapping.

MVsBU3w.png

Let me know what you think so far. More screenshots to come. Thanks.
Criticism welcome.

Replies

• skyline5gtr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skyline5gtr polycounter lvl 9
    Looks pretty good, but Katana's will have much more character to them. Specifically the guard and the bottom cap that you should try to model into the HP

O94110_S1509_PUP2.jpg
  • fatihG_
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fatihG_ polycounter lvl 14
    Is there some rule that says every katana needs to be decorated?

Anyway, I think the katana looks fine, for practice.
    If you are planning on making something for your portfolio it would probably better to model a higher detailed katana.
  • TheAxiom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay good idea! Thanks for the advice!
    I'm planning on doing as much as I can in nDo when it comes to that kind of detail.
    That way it's easy for me to bake the colour maps out to dDo or make the masks myself.
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks like a katana to me.

Question...should the handle be metal? I would have thought it might be wood or something, but it looks like its the same material as the blade.

More personality could be cool, like skyline5gtr suggested, just depends on how visible those details actually end up being in the long run.
  • TheAxiom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gsokol wrote: »
    Looks like a katana to me.