Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Amphibiman Bust

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Fogbrain polycounter lvl 5
Hey guys, finally I got something worthy of posting (I hope.) This was a speed sculpt that I got way too into doing further because I really enjoyed the forms. I've never tried an original creature before and I think this went well. I got some nice reference of frogs and fishes as my main point of reference.

At the moment I'm tossing up whether or not to take it further with texturing and then game res, but heres a quick render in Keyshot that I'm using for the first time and I really enjoy the hell out of it.

nuL6Fwc.png

I'll do a further composite with some passes and textures in photoshop to make it really come to life.

Originally he had scales and 4 eyes and horns, but I decided to scrap it because it got too mish-mashy and busy at the front, the focal point was the neck to the eyes.

QvOMesp.png

So here's a small breakdwon.

0ORccGR.png

Any C&C is welcome, and I'll take it all on board for future projects and even change some stuff on this bust if need be to make the texturing process really pop, if I wanna take it further.

I'll post an update hopefully later today with a fresh composite render in Keyshot and PS

Replies

• DWalker
    You might want to study the anatomy of similar creatures, and understand why they have evolved as they have.

Your current model seems to be missing his nose. (How does he smell? Awful... thanks, folks! I'll be here all week! Try the fish!)

Most amphibians (those from Earth, at least) have smooth skins, with the occasional thick patches (i.e. warts). The skins are thin, and water-permeable, and are often covered by a mucus layer (which would be important when you texture it).

The eyes - at least in the adults - are often large and round. The pupils usually dilate to vertical or horizontal slits, and are often quite colorful:
    frog-eye-eol.jpg