Home Technical Talk

"Cut-out" effect

Hi everyone,

I am trying to make a path paved with bricks/stones that is similar to this Skyrim screenshot:

TESV%202014-07-28%2006-12-44-92.jpg

In this screenshot, it almost looks like the "stony" part of the path is a separate piece of geometry from the terrain that it's resting on. That is the exact effect I am trying to achieve.

But, whenever I paint textures onto a terrain in any engine, the edges of the textures always come out fuzzy, not sharp and separate like they are here. This does not look good when I am trying to use a texture to create the effect of a road paved with stones.

Sorry I am new to this and I am completely stumped: how do you achieve an effect like this, as if parts of the texture were "cut out" so precisely? Is it done with special shaders?

DO you use separate geometry, and, if so, how do you ensure that it follows the exact curves of the terrain so well?

Replies

• JoshWilkinson
    Offline / Send Message
    JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9
    What engine are you using? This can be achieved with vertex paint to transition the two materials and parallax to give the stone more depth (simulated geometry)
  • throttlekitty
    Offline / Send Message
    throttlekitty Polycount Sponsor
    You're talking about the transition from the stone to the dirt, right? It depends on how the engine is configured, the basic idea is that you have an opacity map to dictate how blends look.

http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/AndreyMishkinis/20130716/196339/Advanced_Terrain_Texture_Splatting.php
  • sargentcrunch
    Offline / Send Message
    sargentcrunch polycounter lvl 10
    Here is how Skyrim does it, its a separate mesh with another texture. I can't post the texture flats, out of respect for Bethesdas content, but they are both tiling textures

153060bc9d.jpg

EDIT: They also have 30 different pieces for the modular kit, they sink these into the ground to blend in with the landscape.

a868390484.png
  • anton_s