Home Technical Talk

Quickest path from Zbrush to UE4 without autodesk and blender

JamesQuall
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
JamesQuall polycounter lvl 7
I do all my modeling in Zbrush now. I'm kind of new to bringing high poly models into a game engine. I was looking for opinions from people who have used a wide range of tools as to what would be the quickest way to get into UE4.

I'm thinking topogun would probably be good for retopo, zremesher or zbrush's other retopo tools possibly, but everything I'm doing is hard surface so not sure. The largest issue is uvmapping, and possibly texturing. I am NOT willing to use Maya, or 3dsmax, they cost way too much even the monthly options, plus I'm not fond of Autodesk even though I do admit to using 123d design for some things. Also not fond of blender, and I'm fine with importing as an obj instead of fbx. Worked fine for me on some basic shapes.

Just trying to get some opinions on other NON Autodesk programs to use for this that would be super quick, that's my main priority due to the sheer volume of models I want to import. Substance painter good for this sort of thing? I already have Photoshop but haven't learned how to uv with it.

Replies

• shaderfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shaderfx polycounter lvl 9
    I know you asked for non-Autodesk specifically due to price, but have you seen Maya LT? $20 a month.

If you can afford Zbrush, Substance Painter etc then $20 cannot really be the issue?

There is Modo, but even its cheapest version on Steam if close to Maya LT and I believe is limited by polycount or DOTA only...cannot remember exactly.

Beyond that there is Blender for free, which you say you also do not want.

If $20/month is too much then it does not leave room for much else that is cheaper and not Blender :)
  • JamesQuall
    Options
    Offline / Send Message