Home Technical Talk

Film processes in a games

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
griffitii greentooth
Hi all,

I'm new to the polycount forum - the quantity and quality of information/tutorials available here is great! Loving it!

I've been working in 3D in the film industry for a few years so I know my way around 3D packages but have a few questions regarding shading and texturing and how these areas translate into games, especially next gen gaming.

In film, I normally group objects (or parts of that object) of the same likeness into the same shader. Wood objects point at a wood shader; metal objects point at a metal shader. These shader properties are very different so they are independent to each other. In games would this process still be possible or is it better to have the entire object point to one shader and have texture maps define the different materials of the object?

I keep reading about people now using multiple UV sets to texture large areas of terrain. When the texturing is finished is it baked into a massive texture that defines the entire ground or is there now a better process used to capture all of this information and render it on the fly?

When modelling I leave my assets as quads but is it better to triangulate? In examples online I've seen meshes left as quads and converted into tris so I'm not sure which route to go down!

I have some experience with asset creation for games but as technology has improved have processes evolved as well?

Any input would be much appreciated!

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    griffiti wrote: »
    Hi all,

I'm new to the polycount forum - the quantity and quality of information/tutorials available here is great! Loving it!

I've been working in 3D in the film industry for a few years so I know my way around 3D packages but have a few questions regarding shading and texturing and how these areas translate into games, especially next gen gaming.