Home Technical Talk

One or Multiple Meshes?

Hello Polycount!

Just recently I decided to start learning 3D-modeling so I'm still a newbie. I'm using Maya 2012 and so far I've started off by getting fimiliar with the most basic tools like extrude, cut, merge, setting up image planes etc. 3 days ago I begun modeling my first "real" model which is a F4 Phantom. This has actually gone pretty well, however, I've came across a question that I can't find an answer to.

I can't remember where, but I think that I once heard that when creating a model for a game the model must be one single piece in order for the rendering to work. So my question is:

When creating models for a game, must the model be one single piece or can it consist of multiple pieces? For instance, when creating a jet, I find it a bit difficult to keep a good shape for both the jets body, its engines and the wings. How is the "correct" way that this should be done in? Can these parts be splitted up in mutiple pieces that are just aligned together or won't that work when the model is later going to be imported and drawn in a game? For instance, in a proffesional game, are the models just consisting of one single piece or multiple pieces?

I'm using the word "piece" here as I'm not entirely sure if I should use polygon, mesh or component. I havn't learned the difference between these yet. What I mean by "piece" is simply 2 different pieces of geometry. Imagine a lollipop made out of 1 cylinder and 1 sphere (2 pieces) or 1 sphere where the bottom is extruded into a cylinder (1 piece).

I hope that you understand what I mean and thanks in advance :)

Replies

• Kimon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kimon polycounter lvl 6