Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Game Character - Modelling assets around a body

Hi guys,
Thought I'd drop this question here since no doubt most of you will be flooding with advice.

Long story short, I'm not good with characters, but I have decided to try my best so I'm modelling Ulthane from Darksiders. I decided on this to keep me interested :P

Below are a few images, 1 of my model and 1 of an actual image of Ulthane
darksiders__ulthane_wip_by_hellfire117-d7jfgfo.jpg
the_smith_by_grayginther-d4trcjl.jpg

As you can see, he has several other meshes about his person such as the belt and clothing etc.

I can see from the image what is a model and what is just textured, but as for the process I'm not sure how to go about modelling his scarf, belt etc whilst keeping it looking fixed to his character...if that makes sense.

Also if anyone has any corrections or tips for my current model, please let me know :)

Thanks everyone!

Replies

• Vertrucio
    Offline / Send Message
    Vertrucio greentooth
    Such things are usually just modeled in place against the character's skin.

It helps to select the actual polys from the high poly body and duplicate them to form clothing and such.
  • Purge117
    Vertrucio wrote: »
    Such things are usually just modeled in place against the character's skin.

It helps to select the actual polys from the high poly body and duplicate them to form clothing and such.

Ohhh I get you. So like the belt I can just take the polys from the stomach and extrude them. Good tip :)
  • BradMyers82
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    yea, its hard to visualize the low poly by itself. Much easier to sketch a highpoly out, with multiple subtools (for control) Get stuff looking correct with the hp, then just retopologize in your modeling program of choice.