Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First character WIP

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Nakedwooki polycounter lvl 7
I am a student studying animation is South Africa. I am currently working on texturing my first 3d character. Been working in Maya and dabbling a bit with Mudbox and Zbrush. The character is a space miner. My initial concept art for the character:
page_4_by_nakedwooki-d79nv9m.jpg

Here is a screen grab of the wireframe, it had to be all quads:
ScreenShot2014-05-14at20813PM_zps0af54ea8.png

Some things have changed since the initial concept when it came to modelling and texturing. Here are some screen grabs of my textures so far, from maya's default viewport:

ScreenShot2014-05-14at15527PM_zps0a1fbb55.png

ScreenShot2014-05-14at15554PM_zpse37501de.png

ScreenShot2014-05-14at20217PM_zps92fc4137.png

ScreenShot2014-05-14at15540PM_zps47961539.png

The character is still in its infancy, so textures are not finalised yet and the character still needs to rigged and it is going to be animated. Any critiques, tips or bit of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• AgelosAp
    Offline / Send Message
    AgelosAp polycounter
    The main thing wrong for me is the hips, you tried to have a baggy feeling for the whole thing
    which is depicted nice in the concept but on the model it makes him look feminine
    especially around the waist-hips area.
    The textures are pretty messy for the brown cloth part and you have strong folds
    only in diffuse which looks pretty weird since the rest of the character seems
    to make good use of geometry.
    Your concept is pretty cool just work on getting that dynamic cartoony feeling down :D
  • Nakedwooki
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks man, I didn't pick up on that, will definitely rework on the geometry in that region.
  • slosh
    Offline / Send Message
    slosh hero character