Home Technical Talk

New to UVW unwrap & Normal maps

Hello guys,

I'm new to 3D Modelling and for the moment, I'm working on the 3D Motive tutorial 'The Briefcase'. Great tutorial so far! I just finished my lowpoly and now it's time to start the UVW unwrap.

I find this subject very difficult and complicated. The tutor explains everything very well but still I'm having a lot of questions ('Why does he do that?'). That's why I bought a tutorial from Digital Tutors which is specifically aimed at the UVW Unwrap proces. Hopefully, this will answer a lot of questions.

I noticed that there are scripts/programs on the market which helps to speed up/improve the process of UVW unwrapping and creating normal maps. Scripts like textools for example. I'm using Max 2014 and I red that textools is implemented in the 2014 version so no need to download that script I guess (?).

Besides that, there are programs like Ndo, Roadkill etc. Are any of these programs really 'lifechangers'? Programs that really improve the quality/speed of the process/final result? Because there are so many out there, I could use someone to point me in the right direction.

In most tutorials, they just use the uvw unwrap modifier, textools and photoshop. But some of those tutorials are a few years old. Maybe there have been released some revolutionary programs in the meanwhile? :)

So my question: which programs/scrips/plug-ins should I really take a look at?

Thanks in advance for any answers!

Vince

Replies

• Damian Nachman
    Offline / Send Message
    Damian Nachman polycounter lvl 6
    I Have found that the best way to improve your UV Unwrapping, is to just do it alot.
    Plug-ins and scripts can be helpful, but they won't do the work for you.
    UV unwrapping is pure problem solving, and the more you do it, the easier it will get.
    Once you feel compfortable with assist-less unwrapping, then I recommend that you start looking at ways to accelerate the process.