Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] Umbrella Girl

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Valliant polycounter lvl 4
Hey everyone!

I'm working on a character for my portfolio based on this piece by the super cool Bluefley, who generously gave me permission to use it for this project.

tZDQiyQ.jpg

I've chosen this concept because her design is simplistic enough that I can do it within the time I've been allotted, yet it also challenges me to:

1) Work with hard surfaces and metals, something I've never done before
2) Create long hair!
3) Actually finish what I start for once (hah)

I'm aiming to stylize her to a point, give her some exaggerated features like bigger eyes and lips.

I'll be jumping through a lot of new hoops with this piece, and I'm really excited to get it going. :)

Here's my first pass at the body. I think the face REALLY needs work, I don't feel that she's looking feminine enough but I've kind of hit a wall on how to proceed with it. Her butt and hands are also bugging me, the hands seem too small and I think her butt sticks out too much.

pLLAvpi.png

Any crit or comments would be very appreciated!

Replies

• AgelosAp
    Offline / Send Message
    AgelosAp polycounter
    You are right about everything you said and there 's more anatomic mistakes.
    My advice would be, in case you don't have another reference besides the concept, start getting it.
    Also don't stress yourself too much, complete this character to the end as you said, and you will learn more than tiring yourself down with perfect anatomy.
  • Valliant
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Firith. I've got a pile of reference but I don't think I was checking it often enough, I have a bad habit of that. Thanks for the advice. :)

0cHnPM6.png