Home Contests & Challenges Archives Team Fortress 2

Amateur Modeller Needs Advice and Pointers

Hi, I'm pretty new to modelling and somewhat newer to modelling for TF2. I have my model and basic colours down for a model I've been working on as a hat. The model is going to be a helmet with gems in it. I've been looking at many tutorials, but for one reason or another said tutorials can't help me with my inquiries. What I basically need advice with is the following:

• Reflective surfaces - I want to make the helmet slightly shiny while the gem is as shiny as I can get it.
  • Glowing parts - The gem also glows in dark places
  • Paintable - Now I know how to make the helmet paintable, but what I need is to make only SOME of the parts paintable, not all of them.
That's about it, the tools I'm using to make models and textures are Blender and G.I.M.P.. Any and all advice on how to produce what I need for the helmet would be helpful, thanks!

Replies

• circle of friends
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    circle of friends polycounter lvl 10
    To make it shiny you need a specular map. In tf2 the game uses the alpha channel of the diffuse or normal map as your specular if you tell it to. Try it out, black areas are dull, white are very shiny. As for paintable you need again to use the alpha channel of a map, most people use the diffuse alpha. Again black is non painted, white is painted. As for an emissive map I believe it will be another map or alpha channel but I haven't made one of those in tf2 yet. As your attorney might I also seriously suggest you getting photoshop, it is very affordable with a monthly sub and has way better features.
  • turpinator
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I can't afford PS, I'm afraid... I have learned to make due with GIMP, and for most part haven't come across anything PS does that GIMP can't do. Anyways, yes, I know about the Alpha channel stuff, most of the walkthoughs mentioned this.