Home Dota 2

New Modeler - Would Like a Little Advice

I'm fairly new to modeling - I'm doing it as a hobby more than anything, and I'm probably spending 2-3 hours a week on it. I'd like to start making stuff for DotA, and I'm fairly happy with the modeling side of things. However, there are three huge areas I'm struggling with - Particle effects, texturing and rigging. I'm entirely self-taught, and I'm restricted to using free software such as Blender and GIMP (I have access to photoshop for 2 hours a week). Does anyone know of any tutorials or free software that could help me learn how to texture, rig and make particles? I can upload an example of my current model if that'd help - I just have no idea where to start learning these things.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Replies

• heboltz3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heboltz3 polycounter lvl 9
    You should check out the tutorial thread... Here for some great resources.
  • cagdasx44
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Making particles is very hard and it is only done by some pros.So you shouldnt worry about it but you can find tutorials about adding particles which valve created.
  • LA_Nobody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @ cagdasx44, thanks for letting me know that - I always assumed that I had to make my own particles! That's saved a load of time and hassle.

@ heboltz3, I've had a look at those tutorials, but they all seem to be for paid programs that I don't have access to. What I'd ideally need would be a GIMP/Paint.net/maybe Photoshop tutorial for someone whose never had an art lesson in their life. Pretty much every one I find either seems to assume past knowledge of the program, or an "arty" background, of which I have neither. I was just wondering if anyone knew of any tutorials like that. Thanks for the advice though.