Home Dota 2

Help needed.

Hello, I am an ultra noob when it comes to modeling and 3D related stuff. But, with my ideas I was compelled to get into DotA2 workshop and try and create items I would like to see in the game. So, I watched hours of guides, mainly ones from great contributor, Vlad >The Implyer (thanks for all the help Vlad!).
So, I understood everything I need to create an actual item.
My workflow is :
-Base mesh sculpting in 3ds Max; -> OBJ mesh
-Detailting,fixing,decimading in Zbrush (that program is pure epic for a visual type like me)
-Blender for scaling and bone binding, as well as extension central base (blender supports all important extensions and I also use it to import and export)

Now, I can't use photoshop for texturing, cus I\d be damned if i learn another program for modeling. But that is not my problem.

Recently, I successfully imported 1st piece of my set for Centaur, altho with test textures just to see if everything worked.
Now I am stuck at a different problem. The weapon is pinned in Centaur's foot, even tho I binded it to a proper bone. It is even downscaled vs Cent, but i scaled it in Blender. How do i fix this?

Replies

• ponyplop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I don't know about you guys, but I'd be pinning the bones etc in Max/Maya, then exporting as OBJ/fbx files. I'd also be opening the centaur in Max so I can model to scale with my base mesh. It's personal preference but uni taught me to do my base nest first and then work on adding details, though I've seen plenty of successful poly polycounters do it in referee. Also, you'll want to position your item to the correct spot on the model before binding to the bone.
  • jamesman5000
    Options
    Offline / Send Message