Home General Discussion

Need advice how to start to draw

Hey guys, from now on, i will focus all my day in drawing, and i would spend 2-3 hours, in Maya. After that, when i get some level of sense with drawing, i will start use Zbrush.

I would want to tell me how to start to draw, with pencil or with tablet. I really want to start with tablet because is free, than drawing with paper, i need eraser,some kind of pencil, etc.

Also i want to know any good online courses, for complete beginners like me. Sadly i don't have life drawing where i live no school or classes.

Replies

• Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    Get a pencil, get paper. Draw everything.

It's that simple.

http://ctrlpaint.com/
  • Fwap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fwap polycounter lvl 13
    I second ctrlpaint, its free, in depth and beginner friendly.
  • JustMeSR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JustMeSR polycounter lvl 4
    "Drawing on the right side of the brain" book by Betty Edwards.
    And ctrlpaint for more advanced.
    (not a pro, but started learning recently and I found those two most helpful)

Edit: Also FZDschool on youtube has (first videos) roughly explained composition and decisions in paintings (later on) methods to come up with new ideas and (last videos) not sped up timelapses. These aren't that useful when learning to draw, but great nonetheless.
  • Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    I always show people this tutorial if they haven't seen it already:

http://androidarts.com/art_tut.htm

More related to digital painting than "drawing", but it's simple and straightforward, a handy guide for some basic concepts that apply in all sorts of scenarios.