Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Improve metal scratches?

polygon
Offline / Send Message
Dagon polygon
I modeled this knife today. The edgeflow is messed up I'm not good at modeling blades I find them very difficult to get right, The handle has so many loops because I planned on making the oval groove but never got around to doing it and though it is easier to make it using floating geometry which I will probably do.

Things I need help with:

edgeflow - At the moment it's pretty messed up.

Blade and Hilt Scratches - How would you paint scratches/wear and tear?

Paint-Over Render (minor scratches when I try and add more it looks blurry
SurvivalKnifePaintOver_zpsab7a9b9f.png

Clay and Wireframe Renders
KnifeRender3_zpsefa4b091.png
Knife_zps5abeee03.png
KnifeRender2_zps0f8079e8.png

Replies

• Count Vader
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Count Vader polycounter lvl 12
    I would say with scratches, don't be afraid to photo-sample, it'll give you the most realistic look, esp. if it's something fairly linear like a knife where placement/orientation of edgewear can be relatively straight.

Alternately, use a square brush with a slight rotation/size jitter. Paint in rough/sloppy scratches, then add a layear mask to refine.
  • Dagon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dagon polygon
    Thank you for the tip on the customized square brush I didn't think of that. I modeled and textured this axe, but I only painted scratches on the edges of the head. Best result I've had yet. It is all painted with brushes except for the wooden handle. My normal map bake is messed up. I used blender to bake it quickly. I get the same result in Xnormal as well. The edges of the normal map have serious issues which happens quite often with almost all models I make. I am still trying to figure out how to fix/avoid it.

Survival Axe -
    LogAxeRender3_zps33fc59c2.png

LogAxeRender1_zps5c4d2926.png
    LogAxeRender2_zps955d1cef.png
  • C86G
    Options