Home General Discussion

Game Art Education - Need Your Advice

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Bomber polycounter lvl 8
Hello everyone! I'm new to Polycount and I would really like to read your opinions on my case. I realise that this topic has been brought up in many threads before and I have read through most of them. Still, I feel the need to get some advice on a personal level, as this is a pretty big and important decision for me to make.

Some words about me: I'm 21 years old and have a traditional art background, as well as some intermediate-level experience with 3D modeling. I'm from Greece, which makes me an EU citizen (unless something terrible happens and we get kicked out)... My dream has always been to work in the video game industry and I have explored many aspects of it (including programming), which has led me to realise that environment modeling and/or level design is most likely the thing I enjoy most. I always thought that working at a big company making AAA games would be the dream job for me, though lately, after seeing the progress made in the indie game development scene, watching Indie Game: The Movie etc, the independent route interests me more and more. I certainly have the motivation and will to learn, so I don't need a school to provide that for me.

I'm at the point when I have to decide whether to apply for a Game Art BA program at a UK University, or go the self-taught route. The two main universities that have caught my attention are the University of Hertfordshire (which has a thread here in Polycount) and De Montfort University (latest showreel here).

I have organised my thoughts this way:

University Pros:
- Provides you with a degree, which will help you with visas, if you intend to work outside the EU (for example in the US).
- Tutors and classmates helping you on a more personal level.
- Social experience of studying at a University abroad.

University Cons: