Home Technical Talk

Sculpting Normals or Photosource them ?

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Ongaku polycounter lvl 8
I'm planning my first UDK environment and I've been all over the place looking at pieces and different workflows. Right now I'm specially interested on modular modelling for buildings facades.

On the subject of workflows one thing that's not clear for me, about the more realistic type of objects (walls, windows, doors, bricks) what's the trade of of using just photos to get normals against sculpting them myself ?

I think sculpting in general takes more time, and I'm not very good at it either. But this can be an opportunity to get better, If there's a really significant reason to do it.

Replies

• Butthair
    Offline / Send Message
    Butthair polycounter lvl 11
    This could depend on the type of surface, concrete doesn't have a lot of normal definition for example, so sculpting it might not be worth it.

In any case, if it's faster to get and use photo source normals then do it, sculpt your own if you have the time afterwards, it may turn out you only need so many normals than what is originally thought. So why do more assumed work when you won't use it all?

A lot of games use photo sourced images and use programs like crazy bump or xnormal in photoshop or substance to generate their normals, they may then go in and adjust them afterwars if needed, but you're not a production team, so just go with what keeps you moving to the end goal.

You can polish once you're near the end. You should.
  • Orb
    Offline / Send Message
    Orb polycounter lvl 13
    I would say sculpt it, or rather try some kind of hybrid workflow, like ndo, or rough sculpt+photoshop editing etc but for me you said it all:
    I think sculpting in general takes more time, and I'm not very good at it either. But this can be an opportunity to get better