Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Japanese inspired stone lantern

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Krater polycounter lvl 10
Hi all! Just made this Japanese inspired lantern, of stone, and now I want some feedback. The piece is meant to be a game asset so I had that in mind when modeling and creating the texture. This is my first time uploading my work so please keep that in mind but don't hold back. I want to improve!:)

Replies

• AgelosAp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AgelosAp polycounter
    hey man, before anything else I think you are not presenting this correctly.
    -White object on white background isn't flattering.
    -The lighting is too uniform, try throwing this in marmoset to have a more interesting lighting setup, cause right now there is barely a difference between the normal mapped and the first.
    Other than that, try having some color variation and model-wise the smoothing groups are making the model mushy, if you look at your wire image, if there weren't the edges you 'd think this is cylindrical or something. Maybe start with chamfering the edges where it's supposed to be sharp.
    Hope this isn't too much, I 'm subbing so do some stuff and we 'll talk again :)
  • Popol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Popol interpolator
    I second Firith on the bad lighting. Check the Marmoset website they have a nice tutorial about lighting your character/asset.

The normal map doesn't work at all. It looks like you just threw you diffuse in Crazybump and that was it. At least make a clean highpoly and bake it on your low to have nice edges and then generate the small details with Crazybump/nDo.

Now about the diffuse, it's quite hard to tell what the lantern is made of. When texturing ask yourself "What does make stone look like stone?". Don't just slap some stone texture from CGtexture without tweeking it.

No Spec map?
  • Krater
    Options
    Offline / Send Message