Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Low Poly "Buildings" Practice

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Skywalkergirl93 polycounter lvl 5
I'm currently a student learning how to 3D model/texture for video games. I'm new to polycount, so I figured it's about time I uploaded something. Here's a low poly set of buildings I've been working on from reference. It's still a work in progress, but by the time it's done I hope to have it textured with normal and spec maps applied. I'm an artist, so any criticism is welcome. In order to get better I need to know what I can fix.

Reference:

DSCN0049.JPG

IMG_0922.JPG

SDC15500.JPG

SDC15510.JPG

SDC15523.JPG

Current Low Poly:

[SKETCHFAB]93372a05a139421e9e49b613c549df7f[/SKETCHFAB]

Replies

• snake85027
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snake85027 polycounter lvl 18
    not sure why no one has said anything yet, the modeling looks pretty solid to me, now lets see some textures.
  • fabio brasilien
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fabio brasilien polycounter lvl 11
    looks good for me too.
    Would be nice to see some wireframes.
    Also how you plan to make the "post wires"?
  • -Em'-
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    -Em'- polycounter lvl 8
    @Fabio, you can access wireframe directly from sketchfab : http://sketchfab.com/show/93372a05a139421e9e49b613c549df7f

Its a nice scene, it could definetly blend into a GTA game ^^

What will be your next step ? Atlasing textures and texturing ?

Edit : one minor thing that i would replace by actual geo is the railings where i guess you are planing to put alpha textures. Imo its better to use vertexes than opacity textures on 2 sided planes, like some lightstick and the

And some cylinder loop reducing in tiny objects
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Love the look of these buildings! The whole thing has a great vibe...
  • Skywalkergirl93
    Options
    Offline / Send Message