Home Unity

Unity Excption: Tag: null is not Defined (C#)

Hello guys, thanks for taking the time to help me out.

I'm running into a bit of a problem in my game I'm working on.

The script is working correctly at runtime; and when I encounter enemies, the combat gets loaded and set up correctly.

However, when I run the combat 'for each' loop that iterates through each member in a combat list, I get this error:

o79j.jpg

I think I traced it to this particular block of code circled in the image below. I think the exception might be thrown because the script is trying to access the variable between value changes...

While I have learned a lot about C# in the past few weeks, I am still relatively new to coding. After doing some research, I am unable to find what the issue is.

rxyv.jpg

I've attached the entire script if you have the time to look at it.
http://pastebin.com/UnvifGZC

Replies

• electricsauce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    electricsauce polycounter lvl 11
    I don't see the list being instantiated anywhere:

public List<string> combatList; = new List<string>();

also, you should get in the habit of not using var.
  • MikeSeguin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks electricsauce.

I should note that before I added the bit to make characters turn and rotate to face active defenders/attackers, the for loop was iterating successfully.
  • electricsauce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    electricsauce polycounter lvl 11
    I don't see anything obvious that would cause the combatList to be null. It looks like it shouldn't be able to get into that loop to throw that error on var targetLookPoint = GameObject.FindWithTag(value);

Can you put in a debug.log(value); after the foreach loop?
  • rollin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    rollin polycounter