Home Technical Talk

Advice needed on how best to create a very simple landscape with a cave system

8bit Voxel
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
8bit Voxel polycounter lvl 4
Hi,

I am new to 3D modelling and currently learning Unity 3D, and experimenting with a few ideas.

So, I find myself needing to create a simple low poly landscape (hills, overhangs, etc) with interconnecting caves. So that I can export the 3D mesh into Unity 3D. I don't need to export materials or anything else, only the mesh.

My initial research suggests that using a volumetric sculpting tool would be best. So I would start out with a sphere for example, then sculpt the 'hills' up, and make holes to sculpt and shape the 'cave' system.

So, over the last few days I have looked at loads of software such as Sculptris, and even Blender using Meta Balls and Sculpt mode.

However, I seem unable to sculpt holes that interconnect with each other, with any of the packages I've tried. I've done the usual searching and the only suggestions I find are about using booleans with primitive shapes (unnatural and extremely time consuming , or mirroring 2 objects with an indentation on one side and placing them together (simply not practical for my needs).

I am not looking to create realistic landscape that you see in so many FPS games. My landscape has no trees, rivers, etc. I just need to shape and mold a mesh as I need and be able to create interconnected cave systems in an organic manner (not just perfect straight tubes).

So, can anyone suggest some software (I am happy to pay for the right tool), that will allow me to do this? Or have I got it all wrong and volumetric sculpting is not the way to go?

Thanks. 8BV.

Replies

• Snader
    Offline / Send Message
    Snader polycounter lvl 15