Home Unity

Unity modular problem/question

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
spectre1130 polycounter lvl 6
Hey all so I've been posting stuff in the PP section during th course of this project for school. I'm a first time noob at modular workflow so bare with me. So far, I've been making the square power of 2 textures first(or some un-square iteration), putting them into a 2048 texture atlas, and then just breaking the chunks off a plane in max to make my pieces. I might add a little geo to the chunks but nothing major so far. I knew I'd have a problem sooner or later when it came to my ceiling pieces and such. I made the first wall piece today, and bent the top segment down to start adding some depth to the pieces and now my problem starts.

How do I now make a piece for the ceiling and fit it into a power of 2 piece on the atlas? I went ahead and mocked it up in max by duping a floor piece and 2 of the wall pieces(attaching them/bridge etc.) The piece will now fit but for the life of me I can't figure a way to do this right and have a nice even power of 2 section to make in PS. Here is a couple of screens to maybe help you figure what I mean.

6lKX03m.png
rjIIdGv.png

Replies

• Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Technically, if it's an atlas, you don't need any of the textures to be power of two - so long as the whole atlas texture is power of two...
  • spectre1130
    Options
    Offline / Send Message