Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first step in 3D modelling

So this is my first project. I'm working with Mudbox. As you can see it's very WIP.

f7XYTN1.png

Do you guys have any tips for me? I have a huge problem with the ears.

Replies

• HammerFist3D2D
    Hey gj, some suggestions.
    Make beard a bit more boxy, it is too round. Eyes are too small, make them bigger and wider. Nouse, somehow middle line is too fat/wide make it thinner, and sides are too high, make them in same height like middle. About ears, to make their size realistic, make their bottom to nouse and top to the middle of the forhead. Hope this helped. Gj
  • darkmag07
    Offline / Send Message
    darkmag07 polycounter lvl 12
    You've gotta pay attention to the proportions of the various features of the face. The relation between the eyes, nose, mouth, etc. A google search can certainly come up with an image or two that helps.

But, you're looking pretty good for your first try though. Keep at it!
  • EmAr
    Offline / Send Message
    EmAr polycounter lvl 18
    I'd also go a few subdivision levels down before trying to apply HammerFist3D2D's suggestions.

Don't worry about the inner forms of the ears yet. You need to get your major proportions correct first. Eyes need more space between them, they are also too high etc. Using a facial anatomy chart as a guide is probably what would help you most.

EDIT: I type slowly :icon60:
  • Swizzle
    Offline / Send Message
    Swizzle polycounter lvl 15
    Aside from what others have mentioned, I'd just like to point out that you should not use the base Mudbox head without first adjusting the proportions and placement of the facial features. It's not a very well-made base mesh; the eyes are waaaay too high up on the head, the nose is strangely large, the mouth is placed weirdly, and the ears are next to useless without a lot of massaging.