Home Dota 2

Need Help Making my first Dota 2 Model

I've been teaching myself Blender and GIMP for about the last 4 months, and in a spur of madness/boredom I've decided I want to make a DOTA 2 item set, after I had an idea for Naga Siren. However, I've already met a few issues I really need to solve before starting.

* Do I delete everything except the "body" file and effectively start from scratch? Or do I keep the "legs" file as a reference to modify as the skeleton is already bound to it and the shape of it shouldn't massively change? I mean, it's easy for someone like Lina, because you're *Only* adding onto the existing human shape. For Naga, the cosmetic is a part of the character herself.

* Noob question alert! How do I set a certain camera angle as my "reference" for xyz manipulations (say I'm creating an armlet, and I want to extrude it along her arm accurately)

* For "banded" armour or plate armour, am I better modelling each panel individually, extruding off a "skin level" panel, or just making a single sheet which I texture to look like there are gaps?

Thanks for any answers you may give. I'm still fairly new to this, and what I'll make will probably be rubbish, but hopefully it won't be a total failure!

P.S. My concept is a kind of modified ornamental samurai armour set for Naga. I want it to look like something someone would or could actually wear in a battle, as opposed to a dress or nothing at all! If anyone's interested, I have a concept I can upload (if you promise not to laugh at my non-existent pencil drawing skills - there's a reason why I'm decided to learn how to do all my arty stuff on the computer!)

Replies

• ShadowStarBear
    I'm not familiar with GIMP or Blender, but many 3d softwares are very similar. Some may feature more appealing workflows depending on what you are trying to achieve.