Home General Discussion

Advices please

Hello everyone,
First of all,i'm a 17years old artist. and since i was a kid i've been drawing heros,monsters,people and monsters.. the past few years i've been making mangas and comic book pages,until now i'm still making them.
but my dream is to be a concept artist..
until now i'm learning 3d on the internet(Digital tutors) because i've seen some some concept artists using Zbrush instead of drawing. anyway, i'm just asking you guys to give me some advices...
what should i learn?
What concept artists do?
Can i work in a studio if i don't have any art degree?
I draw 4hours a day,is that enough?
please guys tell everything i should know
thanks ^^
Ps: I want to thank the whole Polycount crew and the people in it for their great work and support. you guys are my INSPIRATION!
and yeah...Excuse my bad english :(

Replies

• PyrZern
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PyrZern polycounter lvl 12
    It probably helps if you post screenshot of the stuff that you do.

Sry can't help with this. ASk the next guy around :)
  • SharpDressedSkull
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you for replying ^^
    I will post some of my work now :)
  • Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    If you want to be a concept artist, leave 3D at the side, its way too complex to just do on the side and that is a workflow very experienced people can use.
    Its extremely hard , so you gotta draw a LOT. Try drawing humans as fast as possible, anatomy is very important.

Learn photoshop, thats the most important on the technical side. IF you want to use 3D to help you, try google Sketchup, its extremely easy and can help you with perspective a lot, but dont worry about sculpting tools.

http://ctrlpaint.com/