Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hobo bodybuilder bust

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
HardBaller polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys. This is my very first attempt at a character bust. I tried to do it as anatomically correct as possible. And i focused most on the actually muscle build of the bust. I did try to make something of the face as well but that ended up almost more looking like an ape then a human. In an effort to save it a bit i added some hair to it and dubbed him the Hobo Bodybuilder. I really tried to make the eyes as well but after 10x failing i called this bust done for the day and i'll try the eyes again on the next one.

Anyway. Like i said this is my very first bust. I'm actually not that unhappy with it considering it is my first. I know that i did make a cartoon character bust before but this was so different with all the muscles. From here on i'm mainly going to focus on making characters and busts.

Any critique, tips or advise is always very welcome and much appreciated as well.

So lemme know what you guys (and girls) think...

8i5o.jpg

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    talk about an oxymoron, lol. You know how expensive it is to be a bodybuilder, you have to eat like every 2 hours. haha.

Anyway, Its just very blobby atm. It looks like something that someone would call stage one out of five stages of starting with a sphere or something. To really illustrate this clearly, perhaps you could find a sculpt on polycount here that you like and try to make the exact same thing. Then you can compare directly and really get a clear indication how far you need to take it.

I think most of your struggle is just lack of experience so keep at it! :)
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    I think what will help, and let's just talk about the face just for now, is to sculpt a head that is just planes of the face.