Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio Punishment

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Polymiron polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys. Well I've been at this whole job searching thing all summer and you know the deal. Not one reply, not one interview. I've asked a bunch of people from school, including teachers what I should do to improve my portfolio and now I'm coming to you, be proud! :poly142: Anyway, I think the way I'm presenting my portfolio has come a long way since the beginning summer but I could really use some feedback on the actual content. :poly122:

PS: I'm kind of new to Polycount so I hope I'm not intruding by posting in this location..

Thanks xoxo

Here's the link

http://cargocollective.com/ryanalbiez

Replies

• Shiniku
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shiniku polycounter lvl 9
    What kind of work are yo looking for? Most of your portfolio does not look game res, so I was just wondering.

The Putin piece is pretty weak and should definitely removed. You have dates on all of your pages - you shouldn't have anything from 2010 or 2011 on there. Your portfolio should represent your current skill level as closely as possible. If you must put old work on there I wouldn't date it.

A lot of these just look school projects. You need to focus on completing more personal projects and updating with current, higher-quality work. Post your work here or a forum like it as you go and you'll get good feedback and improve quickly if you listen.

Hope I'm not being too harsh, there's potential here for sure, but you're going to have to step it up and replace all of this before the portfolio is industry ready, IMO.
  • Jet_Pilot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jet_Pilot polycounter lvl 10
    I agree with what was said above.
    Also your video is blurry as hell, and really makes your stuff look even weaker. re-do it or kill it.
    Remove the Putin, it doesn't look good.