Home Dota 2

CAD software question

Hi, I'm looking into some making items for DotA as a hobby.

I will have to learn how to create and apply textures (and animation, if necessary), but as far as 3D Modeling goes, I had some specific questions.

I am pretty good with Rhino 3D and Autodesk Alias. Would either of these programs suffice or will I need to learn a new program to create models suitable for DotA? I saw on the workshop FAQ that the 3D content had to be SMD .DMX or .FBX. Of those 3, I can only export as FBX in Rhino.

Anyone have any experience using either of these programs for DotA 2?

Thanks

Replies

• DestroyerGR
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DestroyerGR polycounter lvl 5
    I am a new modeler and i am using blender...
    Its pretty easy for beginners and it has everything that you'll need!
    You may wanna try it!
    Cheers!
  • Sukotto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sukotto polycounter lvl 8
    If you can make nice looking models it doesnt matter what software you use. And FBX is fine, its pretty much the main file type that people use for Dota stuff
  • Snowstorm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowstorm polycounter lvl 5
    So... I'm gonna assume that if you're looking at this as a hobby you won't be wanting to spend too much on software. I'm not sure how easy getting the models from Rhino or Alias into Dota 2 will be (I've not used Alias) but as far as Rhino goes you might want to take a look at a sculpting/painting package like Sculptris, Mudbox or Zbrush to make high poly sculpts. You'll probably need one of these to create the normal maps needed to make high quality Dota 2 items. Otherwise you'd have to model them by hand in Rhino which is often slower and more difficult. Sculptris is free.