Hey,
I keep a 32bit version of Maya around for some plugins that only work on 32bit. Recently however, it has started giving me a fatal error on startup once the main window loads. Looking at the crashlog it seems that a nvd3d9wrap.dll is causing the issue, all I've found on the problem is gamers saying that it's causing their games to crash on startup and the suggestion is usually to update the NVIDIA drivers. I did update, but the problem persists in the 32bit version while the 64bit has not been affected. here's the crash log:
//=====================================================
Maya Crash Report
//=====================================================
Exception code: C0000005: ACCESS_VIOLATION - illegal read at address 0x00000000
Fault address: 740B89B4 in C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\CoProcManager\nvd3d9wrap.dll
0001:000079B4 Logical offset (see .map file for location)
Registers:
EAX:00000000
EBX:09776FB8
ECX:0164B1D4
EDX:00740070
ESI:0164B37C
EDI:0164B244
CS:EIP:0023:740B89B4
SS:ESP:002B:0164B1B8 EBP:0164B218
DS:002B ES:002B FS:0053 GS:002B
Flags:00010246
Call stack:
(0) section:offset Address Frame
0001:000079B4 0x740B89B4 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\CoProcManager\nvd3d9wrap.dll (-exported-)
Location: GetNVDisplayW + 0x72C5 bytes
Decl: GetNVDisplayW
(1) section:offset Address Frame
0001:0001A2F4 0x01BAB2F4 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\MC3.dll (-exported-)
(2) section:offset Address Frame
0001:00019A35 0x01BAAA35 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\MC3.dll (-exported-)
(3) section:offset Address Frame
0001:0000D91C 0x01B9E91C 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\MC3.dll (-exported-)
(4) section:offset Address Frame
0001:000644E2 0x01BF54E2 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\MC3.dll (-exported-)
Location: CMLObject::Dispose + 0x3B62 bytes
Decl: public: virtual void CMLObject::Dispose(void)
(5) section:offset Address Frame
0001:00057E70 0x01BE8E70 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\MC3.dll (-exported-)
Location: CMLFacade::DisplayOptInDialog + 0x3C0 bytes
Decl: public: static void CMLFacade::DisplayOptInDialog(void *,bool)
(6) section:offset Address Frame
0001:00044FCA 0x01695FCA 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\FOUNDATION.dll (-exported-)
Location: TCERMetricsRecorder::operator= + 0x15A bytes
Decl: public: class TCERMetricsRecorder & TCERMetricsRecorder::operator=(class TCERMetricsRecorder const &)
(7) section:offset Address Frame
0001:0000A4EF 0x0214B4EF 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\ExtensionLayer.dll (-exported-)
Location: ThotkeyManager::saveOnQuit + 0x24F bytes
Decl: public: bool ThotkeyManager::saveOnQuit(void)
(8) section:offset Address Frame
0001:000FCBBD 0x670FDBBD 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\QtCore4.dll (-exported-)
Location: QCoreApplication::notifyInternal + 0x8D bytes
Decl: private: bool QCoreApplication::notifyInternal(class QObject *,class QEvent *)
(9) section:offset Address Frame
0001:000FE8AE 0x670FF8AE 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\QtCore4.dll (-exported-)
Location: QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents + 0x1CE bytes
Decl: public: static void QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(class QObject *,int,class QThreadData *)
(10) section:offset Address Frame
0001:001256E1 0x671266E1 0x00000000
Module: C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\Maya2012\bin\QtCore4.dll (-exported-)
Location: QEventDispatcherWin32::event + 0xA91 bytes
Decl: public: virtual bool QEventDispatcherWin32::event(class QEvent *)
Next frame pointer is missing - is /Oy turned on in this module?
//crash file = C:\Users\Spudnik\AppData\Local\Temp\MayaCrashLog130916.1403.log
//version = 2012.01.17.2053
//cut = Tue 01/17/2012, 201201172053
//last tool: renderWindowSelectContextItem
//====================================================
//panel with focus: modelPanel4
//visible panels:
// modelPanel4
//====================================================
//Memory usage:
// 2048.000 Mb Free Memory
// 2048.000 Mb Free Swap
// 345.488 Mb Current
// 42.500 Mb MEL
// 0.131 Mb arguments
// 0.124 Mb Transforms
// 0.313 Mb Data Blocks
//====================================================
Replies
1. Grab "Driver Sweper" from Guru3d
2. Uninstall all of your Nvidia drivers. Your display should look like shit after everything is gone.
3. THEN, re-install the nvidia drivers.
Tried it, made sure to hit 'clean install as well' but the problem persists...
@almighty_gir
They just released the new beta stuff buddy, keep up!
Have you tried posted on Autodesk Area?