Home Unreal Engine

Help needed making an interactive computer console in UDK

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
nathanbarrett polycounter lvl 6
Hi all,

I'm currently completing a project for my portfolio and I need some help. I want to avoid Scaleform if possible as I have zero experience in Flash and Actionscript, and I don't want to have to learn a whole new programming language. If possible, I'd love to work out a way to do this with Kismet.

What I'm after is to have the player interact with a computer system in the world. Upon pressing the Action button, the camera with focus on the console (not just the screen), almost as though it's showing the user's point of view. I then want the player to be able to press arrow keys and the enter/backspace buttons to go through various menus. I don't want the computers to be complicated at all - think like BIOS, very simple design and interaction.

Can anyone suggest a way of doing this that might be possible while avoiding Flash and swf files? It looks like a nightmare. I did think of maybe initiating a boolean value if the player has interacted with the computer, and then having each key-press trigger a different screen material instance. But the combination of this will take forever and I'm not even sure that's possible! The game will have to enter a different state so that the arrow keys work and I don't know if this is possible with Kismet.

Here's an image of the kind of view I mean, and from this fixed camera, arrow keys, enter, and backspace will change through various folders etc.

35jjbbs.jpg

Replies

• r4ptur3
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r4ptur3 polycounter lvl 10