Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Zombie sculpt (WIP)

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Joltya polycounter lvl 10
'sup Polycount! I've been working on this zombie sculpt for school. It's my first time really working with Zbrush, and I feel like I don't know what I'm doing a lot of the time, so I thought I'd get some pointers/critiques on here.

DjE9ZSG.jpg

One of the problems I'm having is the fingers. Some of them are overlapped and I'm not sure how to really fix that. Any help would be appreciated!

Replies

• Dimfist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dimfist polycounter lvl 8
    you need to use the mask and transform tools to move them apart from each other. Dynamesh aproximates at lower sub d's so anything to close will become fused. I'd recheck the anatomy on those arms. :D
  • KristaW
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KristaW polycounter lvl 9
    Hey JoltZero! Looks like a fun class assignment :) Did your teacher have you use the nickZ tool for your basemesh?
    u384.jpg
    I recognized the feet. If it is the nickZ base hopefully your teacher told you about polygroups because they can be super useful in sculpting. If you hit the polyf button you should see a bunch of different colored polygroups.
    8qox.jpg
    These polygroups can be selected and isolated from the rest of the mesh. If you ctrl+shift+click on one of them it hides the rest of the mesh which can make it easier to work on that area. You can use polygroups for a number of things, such as mask by polygroup, split mesh by polygroup, apply noise by polygroup, and on and on.
    As far as your finger overlapping issue, I think using the transpose tool will be your best friend. I would really take the time to become familiar with this tool if you haven't yet. It's kind of weird and hard to get used to but I don't know how I would make half the things I make without it. Hitting "w", "e", and "r" will bring up the move, scale, and rotate transpose.