Home General Discussion

Story behind getting your 1st job

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
poly_bob polycounter lvl 3
Hey guys and girls.

I just landed my 1st jr.artist job (Hooray!!) And I wanted to share the story on how I got it so others who are still searching can benefit from it. Plus I think it’s a pretty interesting topic. It would be great if you guys could share as well.

Getting the 1st job is always the hardest. Hopefully these stories will help some people. Or the very less boost morales.

So I guess I’ll start.

I live in NYC and basically if you didn’t know, there’ aren’t many game studios out here. There is only 1 studio that I was interested in working for.

But they weren’t hiring jrs 3 months ago when I graduated. Still I figured I’ll apply anyway. I wanted to email HR but for the life of me I couldn’t find her email anywhere on the internet. So I just randomly guessed it (Which turned out correct) Cover letter, CV, folio link sent. But didn’t hear back from her. 2 weeks later, a env position was posted on their site. Awesome! so I applied through the site. No answer, F*ck!

3 weeks after that, they posted a Jr position and only wanted locals! Holy Sh*t! that’s me!!! Again I applied through the site. And nothing.... not even a rejection. That was my last shot. I guess they just didn’t like my work. Oh well.

3 weeks pasted again and I was checking polycount like I do everyday. Someone posted Jon Jones’ portfolio tips that he tweeted. I’m a huge UFC fan and I thought “Sweet the champ has some good tips” So I was curious and wanted to know who Jon was. His PC account has a link to his linkedin. And whoa!! He’s the guy that the jr. artist would be working under. What a crazy coincidence.

Here’s my chance, I sent him a pm asking for advice on my site. I wanted to pick his brain and ask him what I was doing wrong. Was my work not good enough? Also I politely asked him “WTF Jon!, why didn’t I get a call back?!”