Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

M16A4 Assault Rifle + US Marine

Inspired by Battlefield 3, I managed to create this M16A4 assault rifle. It was modeled off my airsoft rifle with help from reference photos on Google Images. The rifle is completely 1:1 in scale and I have tried to model every single detail I could spot.

Here are some wire renders:

dfbRVtC.jpg

This was rendered with a simple Mental Ray material.

And here is the rifle, textured and finished (rendered with V-Ray):

bGsj3AT.jpg
Tc2Obi4.jpg
H2G7Qqv.jpg

Not only that, I am currently modeling a Marine for this project. This is as far as I've come (also rendered with V-Ray):

W9NReqE.jpg

Any critics are appreciated. Either for the rifle itself, or this Marine! :)

Thanks!
Gnasty

Replies

• Shrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    Its looking good, the render is nice. Are you sure the bullet ejection is so round ?
    Something feels not right in the reciever area, but im no expert.

No offense, but why do we always see the same weapons ? Its not like the M4 variants are a godgift to design or something. Patriotism in the USA?
    The AK maybe is a genius design, but thats functionality wise.
    There are thousands of interesting weapons with exceptional forms and design, and 60% of what we see here are AKs or M4 variants. (maybe a scar once in a while)

You have to realize that its not only potentially boring for the audience (be it guys here or for an art director), but also is it a huge challenge to overcome all the other ones. The model has been perfectioned dozens of times, and yours has to be godlike to stand over the crowd.
    If you model some kind of other gun, nobody can compare yours with the others. Yours is potentially the best out there, and you can present something new to the viewers of your work or employers which is special and unseen. Just by the right subject, your chances are much better.