Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP: 3 Hand-Painted Environments

Hello there! I hope I can get some critiques and feedback on my
environments. This is my first time posting on Polycount, so I'm a bit excited and terrified at the same time..

These environments are still in Maya, so I plan to put the first and second environment in UDK and my last environment in Unity.

My first one is supposed to play with the concept of bottled ships and I decided to create an environment that may possibly be over desert sands or the sea and have a colony of these bottled ships.
ship_4_zpsef3b6752.jpg
ship_3_zps5acc833d.jpg

The second one is a Medieval environment that had been overgrown by foliage.

Medieval2_zps9ff1bf0d.jpg
Medieval1_zpscf49c06c.jpg

Here's with Mental Ray render...

Render_5_zpsdb45ca54.jpeg

Finally, my last environment will involve an abandoned town in a snowy region.

building_3_zpsc0f7fdfe.jpg
building_2_zpsbffa7de3.jpg
building_4_zpsf75cadbb.jpg

Here's the blockout in Unity...
2_zpsa168206a.jpg

I haven't implemented the normal and spec maps for these environments yet, but I'll post the tiling hand-painted textures used for these three environments.

Thank you all for viewing this thread! I hope this can be a great learning experience.

Replies

• Fenyce
    Offline / Send Message
    Fenyce polycounter lvl 11
    Uh.
    Everything seems rather chaotic to me, also the renders are really bad. You can't see or recognize much. Think of composition while placing your meshes.

That second scene could use work on the colors, it's not harmonic.

Your handpainted textures do look nice, as far as I can tell, I'd like to see some better renders/screens and some flats to give some better critique.
  • Freyven