Home General Discussion

etipuette of commissioning artist

I'm not an artist myself, just an aspiring modder, who is seeking a contract artist and willing to pay for the assets he or she produces. I hope its appropriate to join the community specifically for this purpose. I have a general interest and appreciation of great art and the talent that produces it, but its not really my forte. I don't have the knack for it.

I'm happy to include stock art assets in the mod when appropriate in order to save money, but I also wish to commission unique and novel pieces not on offer elsewhere, which is where Polycount comes in. There appears to be many talented artists seeking paid work here and deservedly so.

As a disclaimer I've never undertaken a project like this before nor entered into a "relationship" required by a such an endeavour, which is why I'm posting in a message about the etiquette of art production.

What are the expectations of an artist? How would he/she react to being approached by an aspiring modder without any experience or even a connection to an indie game studio let alone a publisher?

Is it appropriate asking to make an offer on a piece rate basis? e.g. being paid per asset and not a fixed contract? I would be happy to agree that the ownership of the asset remains with the artist to avoid concern about asset farming.

Whats the typical practice regarding payment? Do artists regularly demand payment prior to production? Is it appropriate to pay in installments at various stages of production?

Would you recommend commissioning an artist from another country? I'm from New Zealand and think it would be difficult to find computer graphics artists nearby. I remember there being a community similar to Polycount, here, but I can no longer find it online.

I would appreciate it if folks would answer any or all of the above questions. It would be very helpful.

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18