Home Technical Talk

Welding vertices, faces, complete meshes best practice?

Paulky45
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Paulky45 polycounter lvl 7
Hey all. I'm just looking for some general advice on modelling technique and best practice. I'm relatively new to this, but not a complete beginner. I model mainly for games (using Unity), but this is more general advice I'm looking for.

I was just wondering what the best practice is for having complete meshes, with every face welded, etc. Here's a quick image of something I'm working on as an example.

8s5mcca3l

( http://s24.postimg.org/quyp3k5yd/Houseimage.png - the image embed isn't working in the Preview for this so here's the link just in case)

In the leftmost red circle there are separate objects I arrayed for the guide rail, so they're sitting on top of the platform, not directly part of it.
The right most red circle I've highlighted has three supports for the overhanging part of the building. They were extruded out from the wall behind, so the overhanging bit is resting on them (i.e., the bottom poly of the overhang is not attached to the supports)

My understanding is that a complete mesh is preferable. So all these things should be connected to whatever it's near, polys should be removed where they can't be seen and then attached and welded to the rest of the mesh (eg, the top and bottom polys of each guide rail, or the top poly of the four overhang supports).

So basically what I'm saying is, am I being lazy by not doing all that, or being too anal by worrying about it? My instinct is that it's an awful lot of extra fiddlely work that mostly will never be seen, but I'm worried it could lead to problems down the line that I'm not aware of.

/edit: I'm using 3DS Max by the way, though that mightn't matter.

Replies

• passerby
    Offline / Send Message
    passerby polycounter lvl 12