Home Unreal Engine

How many materials are too many? (Or too complex)

Hey all,

I'm putting together a little project where all the walls are based off a master material I put together so I can just use a few textures for the different walls then vertex paint different details so they don't look repetitive. In that material I also set a lot of control for me so I can change different things (blending, spec, norm, color, bump offset changes, etc).

So I have my master material and I'm trying to figure out how many material instances would be too many. Is it as bad if it's all based on one master material or is calling each one going to hit no matter what?

Also, it shows as red under the shader complexity. I'm not sure how worried about that I should be since the master material is pretty customizable, but then I see everything in the level as red so I thought I'd ask.

Replies

• Ace-Angel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel polycounter lvl 12
    Generally speaking, the less you have the better it is, that's the only rule to games honestly.

Master materials are a double edged swords, they're heavy since you put alot of stuff into it and try to squeeze out as much as you can from a single call, but at the same time, it's cheaper then having mutiple 'different' base materials for compilation reasons.

Material instances are cheap, the only real weight to them (outside of the base material) is the variables in the instance, if you have alot of switches, etc. But in the end, they're just reference files.

Since I don't know how complex your shader is, the red doesn't help. The color will generally indicate that 'material x' has passed a certain instruction weight, I think around 256 instructions (half of what you're allowed in DX9 currently) or some number like that.
  • mister_s
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ace-Angel wrote: »
    Generally speaking, the less you have the better it is, that's the only rule to games honestly.