Home Technical Talk

Unable to remove faceting

Hi everyone,

I have a question about a problem I'm having with a simple model I'm working with. i'm no expert at this so forgive me if this is obvious.

I have this model of a wine glass which was all in triangles and I want to convert to quads (I want to duplicate some of the geo so I can create a liquid that can deform inside). Anyway as was removing the triangles I had to re-build and modify a few areas and in the process deleted a couple of extra faces that I had to add back in. Now when I smooth the normals or switch to smooth preview i get this facetted look around the areas I modified.

Here is a screen grab:

glass_facetting.jpg

I have tried conforming the normals, merging verts (.001 threshold) deleting the faces and re-appending them, I've deleted all history along the way and I even tried exporting as a clean obj and re-imported with no luck. I'm using Maya2013x64

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Scott

Replies

• Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bartalon polycounter lvl 12
    I would try using Normals > Unlock. If that doesn't work, check for flipped normals in the problem area, as nonmanifold geometry will always cause hard edges.

EDIT: Unlocking normals may cause your entire model to lose its smoothing information, but they should be editable afterward.
  • scotty_b
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Bartalon but, no luck unfortunately.

Reversing the selected Normals made it worse and I cant see anything wrong with the face/vert normals.

It's so frustrating
  • Bartalon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Odd! I re-read your post and you mentioned switching to smooth preview and you still get faceting. Generally, everything in the smooth preview should be smooth with no obvious pinching or dark patches. If this is happening then it's a problem with the geometry of the model more than it is with the edge normals.