Home Unreal Engine

UDK and Dropbox

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
acealmighty13 polycounter lvl 10
Is there anyone that uses UDK's engine with Dropbox to transfer files to others? If so, do you need to keep the UPK files within Dropbox to keep any changes or additions to files on all computers using it? Or will any textures we apply between the two of us on our separate PCs, and keep those files in our Content Folder of UDK and just open the UDK level file in the Dropbox, will opening that file place any new textures and/or materials into the content folder?

The more I think about it, I don't think it would. But I'm frustrated and looking for some direction. I'm new to level design on our first game and trying to figure out why I can't see the textures and materials my partner has applied on his PC.

Basically, a co-worker and myself are building a level, I'm in Missouri, he is in Wisconsin. Dropbox is our connection for files. It's worked great. I'm missing something with UDK, do the UPK files have to be one in the same and saved in the Dropbox or can we keep them off of the Dropbox and in our Content Folder, separately? While just the UDK level file stays in the Dropbox?

Replies

• joeriv
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    joeriv polycounter lvl 7
    Me and a friend used it recently when working on a level:

Situation:
    2 people are working in the same package (adding assets).
    Person 1 adds 2 assets and uploads it to dropbox.
    Person 2 in meanwhile added a asset of his own and uploads it 2minutes later -> the assets from person 1 will not be there, because that newer package got overwritten.

So you have to take turns in working on the package, and always make sure to get the latest version of dropbox, adjust it, upload it again, and then tell the other person that he can work on it.

same with the map.

Your wording is a bit confusing, but if you are working from dropbox you have 2 ways to go with packages: