Home Technical Talk

Mechanical Rigs - Catapult

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
riuthamus polycounter lvl 11
So i am trying to rig this thing for use in a video game.... problem is we are using a custom engine and I have never done this before in any game so the idea on how to do it escapes me

catapult2.jpg

Is the object, and the rig looks like this:

gallery_1_371_207815.jpg

This rig just animates the objects, the issue is our engine requires a bone set. If i add a bone set... i dont even know where to begin to get this thing to work the way I want. Any ideas would be GREAT!

Replies

• electricsauce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    electricsauce polycounter lvl 11
    When I rigged mine, I used a root bone for the framework, a bone each for the front and rear axles, a bone for the winding arm and a bone chain for the arm.
  • riuthamus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Do you mind showing me what you mean. Not sure I can figure out... what you mean exactly. Thanks for any and all help
  • electricsauce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • riuthamus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Interesting, how did you weight it? and those look like all different bone sets. Did you bind the mesh to the bones?
  • BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12
    If you need to use joints, all you have to do is place joints where the pivots are. The controls you set up will work fine, but instead of constraining them to the mesh you constrain them to the joints. Then all you do is flood the weights of each mesh to the corresponding joint.

If you are having trouble understanding what I am talking about, then look up some basic rigging tutorials in Maya.
  • electricsauce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message