Home General Discussion

Where should I start?

CLM
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
CLM polycounter lvl 5
Hey Polycount!

This is quite wordy, but bear with me :D

After ages of surfing threads I've finally decided to make an account and hopefully motivate myself to start creating more 'professional' outcomes.

I'm wondering where I go from my current position, here's a little info about my current ability:

I'm 17 in a month, and I've been using C4D for the past 2/3 years, more recently getting involved in VRAY and slightly more advanced modeling. I feel that I do have the ability to create awesome outcomes, but I lack the motivation to finish them off - so for my time using Cinema 4d (alongside, realflow, zbrush, among other programs) I have nothing to show for my time spend. I used to have my eyes set on going into CG/Motion in film and/or advertising.

I've been rethinking my career path, as I have to apply for uni in less than 6 months, and I feel that I would enjoy enviroment design, as a lot of my inspiration comes from games such as Borderlands, gears of war and various others.

So where do I go from here? I really want to start learning UDK - or another game engine, and get a real taste in if i'd enjoy it or not. I've started going through tutorials on 3DS and Maya, along side touching up my zbrush. I feel if I put 100% into it, I could create a mini outcome this time in 3 months, and hopefully post it here for feedback!

My questions are:

What program is the most valuable to learn?
Which game engine would be the best to learn?

I know there aren't any solid answers on those, but I'm looking for personal opinions - or unbiased views!

If you've gotten this far, thanks for reading!

Replies

• EmAr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EmAr polycounter lvl 18
    Don't forget to read the wiki! Especially, the art disciplines part may be helpful:
    http://wiki.polycount.com/