Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sci-Fi Alien...Plant...um...Racer Guy

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
nozone polycounter lvl 4
UPDATE 7/10/2013
Polypainting progress...

UVROSbV.jpg

LATEST UPDATE: Low-poly & bakes done, on to texturing!!

PlVGTTK.jpg

Greetings, Polycount! I've finally worked up the courage to start posting here in hopes of improving my skills and connecting with fellow travelers in this Wacky World of Game Art!!

Been in school for a while, and now it's time to start using what I've learned to build out my portfolio. First up, this guy:

AqyeVDv.jpg

...a rider in a sort of nebulously-imagined sci-fi racing game in my head. His vehicle/mount (which I'll ultimately model as well) is a rhino-sized ATV-type thing, with a similar plant-insect-machine hybrid look. And a big-ass jet engine on the back. :poly121:

Anyway, here's a close-up of his head, which I started painting before I'd decided to do the whole character...

8SMB0ZL.jpg

...and a big-honkin' GIF (sorry) of how I imagine the basic color-breaks to go...

PlantGuy-Polycount.gif

This is all seriously WIP, so any advice/critique/GoodGodWhatAreYouDoingSTOP would be highly appreciated, before I move on to final details/painting/lowpoly/etc.

If you've gotten this far, thanks for your time! I look forward to participating in the community here.

Replies

• Pioldes
    Offline / Send Message
    Pioldes polycounter lvl 5
    Really cool silhouette so far :) Neat details too.

If I could offer some advice, maybe I'd go into making his face more alien-like. Right now, it looks more like a green human than something out of this world and I think it's a missed opportunity.

Keep it up! It's looking good!
  • nozone
    Offline / Send Message
    nozone polycounter lvl 4
    D'OH! The face! How could I forget??