Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Portfolio critique requested

sevndaythry
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
sevndaythry polycounter lvl 6
[url]Http://www.jacobr-artist.com[/url]

Hey everyone. I've been lurking around the forums for a couple of years now and decided to finally become more active.

I graduated from Full Sail's online program last November and wanted to get some feedback from some veterans on my portfolio. All constructive comments welcome.

Thanks

Replies

• Xelioth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not a veteran by any means, but I'm a CalArts student and they subject us to portfolio reviews often, so hopefully I can help a little.

The main thing that comes to mind is that there's not much here. You've got two props and three environments. They're decent works, but there just isn't much to look at.

For what is there, I want to say that the lighting needs some work as it currently detracts from the texturing. Your textures seem to be pretty good, but the lackluster lighting makes them look bland. If the lighting is all baked in, it needs some serious work to punch up the contrast and make the scenes work as art pieces. I can say that I'm really digging the temple scene, and the farm house stands out as your weakest.

I also want to note that the way your portfolio website is set up, I almost didn't realize that there were more than 4 images to look at in the environments section. As a general rule, you want to make absolutely certain that recruiters can see your work easily and clearly, because the larger companies get a LOT of applications so you've got to capture their attention if you're going to get them to put any effort into looking through your work. Right now that little "View More" button is kind of hard to see and if they don't notice it right off, they aren't likely to put forth any effort to find it.