Home General Discussion

Concept Art for Portfolio Pieces - Advice Requested

ScottHoneycutt
polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
ScottHoneycutt polycounter lvl 14
I aspire to be an environment artist in games. My portfolio ... it doesn't show it. Most pieces are high res models done from references requiring little conceptualizing that are years old. So why don't I have game environment pieces to show? I've come to terms with how I am not a concept artist. I don't envision great compositions, I model well from good references. It hasn't worked. I've asked similar questions before and received a few answers suggesting that I use other people's concepts to work from. Here are a few of my concerns with this:

1) Don't I need permission to do that? Is it wise to use a concept that already has been done well for a real game?

2) Most great environment paintings I've seen in my searches focus on large scale environments, settings that paint an entire world and don't really lend to a player walking through anything in terms of my copying the actual composition (which is the greater need ... I can come up with ideas that I like but can't compose them well or think of good details)

3) I asked a lighting artist at Pixar this question recently at a presentation about his portfolio. He said he always knew a lot of people of Concetart.org and DeviantArt. I wish I knew the details of what he meant. Did he commission them for illustrations? Do an art trade? I know other modelers have the same problems and I want to know how they solve them.

4) I believe my work needs to stand out from the crowd and express myself. Making models of already known objects I can find references for won't cut it. Neither will doing what everyone else is doing. I believe I can do this entirely, if I can get past this major hump.

All comments welcome. Thanks!

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master