Home Technical Talk

Is the Asus G75vw worth the price for proffessional 3d software?

so im going to need a portable computer to be able paint high quality concept designs in photoshop/ painter and be able to create 3d models and 3d renders professionally like you see around cg society and here. is the Asus G75vw with 16gb ram (i plan to upgrade the ram to its max which is 32 on this laptop) worth the around 2000$ and will it perform for the things i need it?

i graduated college in game dev and im in the process of creating a portflio for concept art and 3d modeling including pretty detailed sculpts and renders.

i just really in need of a laptop computer ( hate being confined to one place when working) around the 2000$ Cnd mark which i can buy at best buy or futureshop. i was also looking at the eurocom computer laptop but are a bit pricier my first choice is the asus. Keep in mind i will be needing a portable computer able to handle professional work for 3d and 2d graphics

any tips? i dont know alot about hardware and graphics cards. i know more ram is always better. is this asus the way to go for the price?

thanks guys i really appreciate any help

here is the asus i have the money for now
http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/asus-asus-17-3-laptop-black-intel-core-i7-3630qm-256gb-ssd-500gb-hdd-16gb-ram-windows-8-english-g75vx-dh72-ca/10243106.aspx

or should i save a bit more and buy this eurocom one

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-CA/product/eurocom-eurocom-neptune-2-0-17-3-gaming-laptop-black-intel-core-i7-3630qm-16gb-ram-750gb-hdd-windows-7-p170em-bb06/10241973.aspx

Replies

• gray
    no it is not worth it at that price point. i would steer away from asus and most of the big laptop vendors. there was a thread about this a few days ago. i suggest you read that thread for all the relevant information.

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=120687
  • s6
    Offline / Send Message
    s6 polycounter lvl 10