Home General Discussion

Industry Specific Education Requirements

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Memory polycounter lvl 10
I'm a MIL-SIM industry vet artist and I dabble in dem game arts, but something I've been doing recently is researching the 'other' industries in order to educate people and help them figure out which path to take. I'll list the industries here and my current perception of what it takes (education wise) to get your foot in the door. These are based on my knowledge/opinion and United States specific.

Please let me know what I'm ignorant on, and offer your advice. Portfolio strength: Strong, Moderate, Average, Below Average, Poor.

Military-Simulation: Required 2 or 4 year degree from University, Community College, or for profit school related to fine arts, computer animation, or similar degree. An average to moderate portfolio can get you in the door with experience. Moderate portfolio can get you in the door.

Arch Vis: 2 or 4 year degree from University or Community College. Strong portfolio demonstrating attention to specific details (measurements, real world lighting/textures.) An understanding of CAD data and related programs. Something like skills in material definition, etc.

Film: ?? I'm pretty ignorant on this.

Games: 2 or 4 year degree with a moderate portfolio, or no degree with an amazing portfolio. Experience helps a lot. Good networking + moderate portfolio can get you in the door. ??

Any thoughts/discussion would help out. I have 1st/2nd hand experience with MIL-SIM and Arch Vis, I've seen the process on those.

Anyone in other countries who would like to comment on what it would take for a US citizen to work where they are at would be great too.

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Memory wrote: »
    Games: 2 or 4 year degree with a moderate portfolio, or no degree with an amazing portfolio. Experience helps a lot. Good networking + moderate portfolio can get you in the door. ??