Home Unreal Engine

Mirror Modeling Glitches (Red Yellow Spacefighter)

Hey, I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this, but this is what I'm working on. This is my first time (offset) mirroring a model and I have a strange set of lines that only shows on one half of the mirrored bit... Also I'm not sure if this is the proper way to mirror. If anyone can help, I would greatly appreciate it! (Maya 2012)

Error (notice the lines running across, these are not hard edges):
2013-04-29_17-29-58.jpg

Other side that doesn't have these lines:
2013-04-29_17-30-14.jpg

UVs:
2013-04-29_17-36-25.jpg

Model (if it helps):
2013-04-29_17-40-35.jpg

P.S.: Also, trying to get a lightmap UV set that doesn't overlap is killing me.

Replies

• Kon Artist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kon Artist polycounter lvl 8
    pretty cool model!

to mirror...

select model in maya's view port and shift right click... mirror polygon (select the axis you want to mirror on and +/- value. (the UVs will mirror for you). Do not change any geo or UVs.

Adding a proper Light map UV set...
    after mirroring your stuff ^^^^

right click your model... UV set editor (you should have only one set called map1)
    select it and click copy (this is a good time to rename the second set to lightmap)
    go to your UV texture editor and up top click on the UV set drop down tab
    select your second set / light map... changing the name just makes it more organized.
    select one or more vertices in the UV texture editor
    shift right click and select Layout UVs.

You can generate a second set of UVs in UDK, but don't do it; create it yourself.

if you have shaded UVs on they will all become blue with no overlapping.

For tiles you have to match up the boarder edge with grid in the UV editor for your light map.

Here's a video that explains this...

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3eDjhOtiyuo"]UDK: Lightmap Basics - Introduction to Lightmapping with UDK Part 1/4 - YouTube[/ame]